The altruistic manifesto

TAKE THE A•TURN!

By altruism, we mean

the ability to give unconditional service to others based on the fundamental understanding that we are connected to them.

In almost everything we do and need, people depend on each other to lead qualitative and meaningful lives. Throughout its history, mankind has developed a unique talent for cooperation, which manifests itself in complex and far-reaching partnerships, both within and across communities.

From suffering to cooperation

At the same time, we see that there is a great deal of pain, fear and sorrow in the world as a result of poverty, exploitation, war, political and financial mess, depression, suicide... and this both on an individual and a collective level. Cause and effect cannot be so clearly distinguished in this incomplete list. So our inclination to cooperate does not a priori lead to 'a better world'. As long as it is not altruistically inspired, it can also create, perpetuate or intensify pain, fear and sorrow.

Strengthening our altruistic aptitude

Scientific research shows that children already exhibit altruistic behaviour at a very young age. They only learn to moderate this innate behaviour after social and cultural norms have been internalised. That is why we advocate consciously and actively harnessing our altruistic disposition and taking the step together towards a more altruistic society.

We believe that an altruistically inspired education can open the door to a global and revolutionary shift in human development towards greater empathy, selfless care and cooperation.

Homo relationis

As human beings, we are not alone in our relationship with other humans. We are dependent on and intimately connected to our entire environment. From our egocentric perception of the world, we search for meaning and question our place in the cosmos. This is why we like to present human beings as homo relationis: from the earliest moment of conception, every human being is, consciously or unconsciously, in relationship with everything and everyone. In other words, he or she is always and everywhere connected.

When the reciprocity in all these connections is insufficiently or not at all sensed or understood as second nature, we feed our egocentric disposition. Political, cultural and economic systems that benefit from this either facilitate or perpetuate these processes.

As a result, people inflict untold suffering on themselves, on others and on the environment in which they live, at the risk of undermining the survival of all that lives and flourishes in it.

Altruistic Education

Our children are the adults of tomorrow. Through altruistic upbringing and education , we want to bring about a change in our mindset, a transformation in our way of thinking. After all, how we think determines how we speak and act. We strive for every child to become mentally and physically self-reliant, to come to self-knowledge and develop a strong, balanced and social personality, happy, in balance with itself, with others and with its environment.

However, focusing on the development of an unselfish mindset is just as important for the adult of today. This process can and must be set in motion on a broader scale within society, through education at home (from the earliest stages), through training and education (outside school, at and/or after work, during leisure time, etc.).

An altruistic effect

Every action, every initiative that is taken should have an altruistic effect , however small. This is both to optimise the quality of life of each individual and to initiate a broad and necessary process of recovery for the benefit of fauna and flora, and this from a deeply felt connection with nature as a whole and its rich biodiversity in particular.

Let us therefore take this turn as quickly as possible and with as many people as possible:

TAKE THE A•TURN!

The manifesto already has 496 signatures! Will you help?

Name(Required)
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.

Will you help us spread the manifesto?

Do you have a question or would you like to help?

info@altruism.be

Follow us on facebook!

Le manifeste altruiste

TAKE THE A•TURN!

Par altruisme, nous entendons

la capacité à s'engager inconditionnellement envers l'autre à partir de la perspective fondamentale d'être connecté avec l'autre.

Dans presque tout ce que nous faisons et ce dont nous avons besoin, les gens dépendent les uns des autres pour vivre une vie de qualité et pleine de sens. Tout au long de son histoire, l'humanité a développé un talent de coopération unique, qui se manifeste par des collaborations complexes et de grande envergure, tant au sein de sa propre communauté qu'entre les communautés.

De la souffrance à la coopération

En même temps, nous constatons qu'il y a beaucoup de douleur, de peur et de chagrin dans le monde en raison de la pauvreté, de l'exploitation, de la guerre, de l'altération politique et financière, de la dépression, du suicide... tant au niveau individuel que collectif. La cause et l'effet ne peuvent être distingués de manière aussi univoque dans cette liste incomplète. Notre aptitude à la coopération ne conduit donc pas a priori à "un monde meilleur". Tant qu'elle n'est pas d'inspiration altruiste, elle peut également créer, perpétuer ou renforcer la douleur, la peur et le chagrin.

Renforcer notre aptitude altruiste

Les recherches scientifiques montrent que les enfants font preuve d'un comportement désintéressé dès leur plus jeune âge. Ils n'apprennent à modérer ce comportement inné qu'après avoir intériorisé les normes sociales et culturelles. C'est pourquoi nous préconisons de nous engager consciemment et activement dans notre disposition altruiste et de prendre ensemble le virage vers une société plus altruiste.

Nous croyons qu'une éducation d'inspiration altruiste peut ouvrir la porte à un changement global et révolutionnaire dans le développement de l'humanité vers plus d'empathie, d'attention désintéressée et de coopération.

Homo relationis

En tant qu'êtres humains, nous ne sommes pas seuls dans nos relations avec les autres. Nous sommes dépendants et intimement liés à tout notre environnement. À partir de notre expérience égocentrique du monde, nous recherchons un sens et nous nous posons des questions sur notre place dans le cosmos. C'est pourquoi nous aimons présenter l'homme comme un homo relationis: dès la première conception, tout être humain, consciemment ou inconsciemment, est en relation avec tout et tout le monde. En d'autres termes: il est toujours et partout connecté.

Lorsque la réciprocité de toutes ces connexions est ressentie ou comprise insuffisamment ou non comme une seconde nature, nous nourrissons davantage notre disposition égocentrique. Les systèmes politiques, culturels et économiques qui bénéficient de ce travail contrôlent ou soutiennent ces processus.

En conséquence, l'homme inflige des souffrances indicibles à lui-même, aux autres et à l'environnement dans lequel il vit, au risque de compromettre la survie de tout ce qui vit et s'épanouit en son sein.

Éducation altruiste

Nos enfants sont les adultes de demain. Grâce à une éducation et à un enseignement altruistes , nous voulons provoquer un changement de mentalité, une transformation de notre façon de penser. Après tout, notre façon de penser détermine notre façon de parler et d'agir. Nous nous efforçons de faire en sorte que chaque enfant devienne mentalement et physiquement autonome, qu'il acquière la connaissance de soi et qu'il développe une personnalité forte, équilibrée et sociale, heureuse, en équilibre avec lui-même, avec l'autre et avec son environnement.

L'engagement à développer une mentalité désintéressée est tout aussi important pour l'adulte d'aujourd'hui. Ce processus peut et doit être initié plus largement au sein de la société par l'éducation à domicile (dès le début), par la formation, l'éducation et l'enseignement (extrascolaire, au travail et/ou après le travail, pendant les loisirs...).

Un effet altruiste

Chaque action, chaque initiative prise doit avoir un effet altruiste , aussi minime soit-il. Tant pour optimiser la qualité de vie de chacun que pour engager un vaste et nécessaire processus de restauration au profit de la faune et de la flore, et ce à partir d'un lien profondément ressenti avec la nature dans son ensemble et sa riche biodiversité en particulier.

Prenons donc cette sortie le plus tôt possible et avec le plus de moyens possibles:

TAKE THE A•TURN!

Le manifeste compte déjà 505 signatures ! Vas-tu aider?

Nom(Nécessaire)
Ce champ n’est utilisé qu’à des fins de validation et devrait rester inchangé.

Nous aiderez-vous à diffuser le manifeste?

Avez-vous une question ou souhaitez-vous aider?

info@altruism.be

Suis nous sur Facebook!